The Noble Eightfold Path is the Way to the end of suffering. It is the Middle Way that leads to peace, discernment, supreme happiness, perfect wisdom, enlightenment, and Nirvana.

The Four Noble Truths and The Noble Eightfold Path is one of the world’s greatest teachings—the very foundation of all dharma practice.

Here, in this excellent teaching, the Buddha offers us the grand possibility of bringing confusion, dissatisfaction, and suffering to a welcome end and clearly describes the Path we must follow to accomplish this liberation.

The Noble Eightfold Path is as follows:

  • Right Understanding (or Right View)
  • Right Thought (or Right Intention)
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness (or Right Attention)
  • Right Concentration

Source: Used with permission from